top of page
Advising: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureLinda Chavers, Ph.D.

To The Class of 2020

Updated: Jul 7, 2020

Yesterday we had a small ceremony for the seniors, we read their names, we gave them roses, we elbow-bumped in lieu of a handshake. Here's all of what I wanted to say (I stopped because it was cold!):

I’m gonna tell y’all something someone told me long before I understood It: Harvard needs you so much more than you need it. And you have proven that today. Resiliency can be a loaded word, sometimes it comes off as condescending. But when I say yours is a class of resiliency I mean It in every literal and figurative sense of the word. Y’all woke up to something so unprecedented and so unexpected and you showed up. Further you showed out and you did it with inclusivity and true Harvard humor (starting multiple lists for folks to share known resources for lodging and financial help, throwing a party with Corona beers, saying you can tell folks you graduated early...).

Here’s the thing: as Winthrop seniors you were sort of prepared for this — you’ve woken up to upsetting news. You’ve spent days going to classes wondering what the h is going on at your house, wondered what will happen. You’ve woken up to the sudden and unexpected.

And yet, here you are. Smiling, crying, moving through an unprecedented moment with grace, with humor and with a profound collective sense of kindness. That's another word for this class: Kindness. Every single one of my interactions with you over the last two years always began and ended with kindness. It remains a humbling shock and I will holler at anyone who thinks otherwise about the typical Harvard student.

Finally, know that you will be faced with surprises and the unexpected even after this. When that happens never hesitate to remind the world, "I've been here before."


I am so so sorry. So humbled and so grateful to have witnessed your journey here since 2017. I won't know this place without you.


Love,

Your Resident Dean, DC.

(Dean Chavers)

100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Advising: News
bottom of page