top of page
Advising: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureLinda Chavers, Ph.D.

Tell Me Where You Are


Dates and Deadlines

August 26: Fall full term course registration for all students due

August 27: Add/Drop Period Begins

September 2: First day of classes

September 7: Labor Day- University Closed


You may recall that the rules and steps have changed for simultaneous enrollment and 6-course enrollment:

For SE – no ad board involved, please make good choices.

For 6-course enrollment – If you are a junior or senior just hit the SUBMIT PETITION button that will show up on your cart and I will approve. IF YOU ARE A SOPHOMORE (and therefore I don’t know you yet!) you must add a note in the petition telling me your intentions and why you’re doing this and your plan for life/work management.

 

Dearest Winthrop,


Every day I plan to write a new post and every day I get so bogged down with other work that I just move the task to another day.


Do you find yourself doing this? Having an ever-growing list of To-Do's that keep staying in the future tense?


I'm writing to let you know that this is a time of overwhelm. Absolute OVERWHELM. If you took a shower today, great. If you remembered to brush your teeth, awesome. If you finally got around to responding to another pesky email from your resident dean, THANK YOU!


If you got through the day, you are winning.


This week's post is short and sweet: essential deadlines at the very top of this page, important health stuff from Harvard below and, finally, stuff I'm reading these days that you may find of interest:


HEALTH and WELLNESS

Don't sleep on the many offerings from CAMHS on managing emotions to living with family and to sleeping well!: https://camhs.huhs.harvard.edu/our-services


I urge you to read these very helpful tips on living well while learning remotely from the Academic Resource Center. Please browse the site and consider a one-on-one session!


GOODREADS

Important History Lesson!

 

I'd love to know what would YOU like to see in this space? What has been and would continue to be helpful? Use the comments section below to please inform me of how this space helps you thrive as a person and as a Harvard student. I'm also happy to post here less regularly: don't worry, any important academic deadline stuff will always come via emails from me and/or Sarah to the All-House and Class listservs.


This week I ask that you perform an incredibly selfish act: you throw away your To Do list (or delete, really, because all things digital) and just start over. Wake up and ask yourself, "What do I want to do today?" Ask yourself, "What can I do today?"


and go do it.


Ever yours,

DC

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I'm Moving!

Continue to follow the res dean blog over on Google Sites by clicking here!

Advising: News
bottom of page